EASAC Council

The Council is EASAC's full assembly and governing body. It is composed of 30 highly experienced scientists - one representative from each member academy.

Council meets two to three times per year and is usually hosted by the National Science Academy of the EU Member State which is in line to take over the EU Presidency two months later.

Council sets EASAC's direction, agrees the initiation of projects, monitors their progress and reviews and approves reports for publication. EASAC works on the assumption that Council members also consult with their nominating academies.

Apart from the National Science Academies of the EU Member States, Norway, Switzerland and United Kingdom, Academia Europaea (a pan-European Academy) and ALLEA (the federation of all academies in geographical Europe) are also represented in EASAC Council.

FEAM, the Federation of European Academies of Medicine, has Observer status in Council.

EASAC Council Members

MemberDisciplineNominating body
Professor Georg BrasseurElectrical EngineeringThe Austrian Academy of Sciences
Professor Michel CrucifixPhysicsThe Royal Academies for Science and the Arts of Belgium
Professor Julian RevalskiMathematicsThe Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
Professor Mirko OrlicGeophysicsThe Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts
Professor Costas N. PapanicolasSolar and Particle PhysicsThe Cyprus Academy of Sciences, Letters and Arts
Professor David HonysBotanyThe Czech Academy of Sciences
Professor Michael Broberg PalmgrenMolecular and Plant BiologyThe Royal Danish Academy of Sciences
Professor Jaak JärvOrganic ChemistryThe Estonian Academy of Sciences
Professor Mats GyllenbergMathematicsCouncil of Finnish Academies
Francis-André WollmanBiologyThe Academie des Sciences
Professor Dr. Bernhard FleischerImmunologyThe German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
Professor Loucas G. ChristophorouPhysicsThe Academy of Athens
Professor György KosztolányiMedical GeneticsThe Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Professor Brian NortonPhysics and EngineeringThe Royal Irish Academy
Professor Andrea RinaldoHydrologyThe Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
Professor Ivars KalvinsChemistryThe Latvian Academy of Sciences

Professor Jūras Banys

PhysicsThe Lithuanian Academy of Sciences
Professor Wim van SaarloosPhysicsThe Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences and Arts
Professor Lise ÖvreåsMicrobial EcologyThe Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Professor Romuald ZabielskiVeterinary MedicineThe Polish Academy of Sciences

Professor Isabel Sá-Correia

BiologyThe Academy of Sciences of Lisbon
Professor Marius Andruh


The Romanian Academy
Professor Karol Marhold

Plant Sciences / Botany

The Slovak Academy of Sciences
Professor Franci GabrovšekPhysicsThe Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts
Professor Manuel de LeonMathematicsThe Spanish Royal Academy of Sciences
Professor Birgitta Henriques NormarkClinical MicrobiologyThe Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Professor Irmi SeidlEconomySwiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
Professor Alison NobleBiomedical EngineeringThe Royal Society
Professor Donald B. DingwellGeologyAcademia Europaea
Professor Annette Grüters-KieslichPediatricsALLEA (All European Academies)