Covid-19 Response

Read more

EASAC member academies voice concern about recent developments in Turkey


EASAC's member academies are strongly concerned about the recent development in the Republic of Turkey. They condemn the forced resignation of all university deans, the cancellation of teachers' licences, the travel ban for all academics in Turkey and the call to Turkish academics abroad to return.

Member academies of EASAC especially support the statement of the All European Academies (ALLEA) that rejects the attempted coup d'état and calls for the Republic of Turkey to respect academic freedom and autonomy, to which is obliged to by international agreements.

Statement from our member academies:

Academia Europaea


The Council of Finnish Academies

The German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

The Slovak Academy of Sciences

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences


back to overview