Events Public Events Energy

Launch of EASAC policy report on Dedicated Electricity Storage

Monday 19 Jun

Time and Location

  • Brussels, Belgium

You are invited to the

Launch of the EASAC policy report on

"Valuing Dedicated Storage in Electricity Grids"

Monday, June 19, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM

Palace of the Academies, Rue Ducale 1, Brussels


Large-scale electricity storage is making a come-back because it can contribute to the flexibility which is needed by system operators to manage the increasing penetration of variable renewable electricity generation on the grid. At the same time, the interest of householders in small scale storage for self-consumption has already led to more than 40,000 small household PV plus battery systems being installed in Europe since 2013, mainly in Germany.

EASAC's team of scientists nominated by Europe's 28 national science academies has been working for two years to develop an independent view for EU policy makers of the value of dedicated storage on electricity grids from a scientific perspective. Their report concludes that the value of storage is system dependent and that it can contribute to balancing, reserves, capacity and generation adequacy as well as congestion management. However, in electricity markets, it must compete with flexible generation, demand response, interconnections, and curtailment.

Register for event here!


Draft Programme:

[12:00 light lunch available]

12:20 Welcome to the Academy

Prof William D'haeseleer, Member of the Royal Academy KVAB

12:25 Introduction to EASAC by Prof Eva-Mari Aro, Vice President of EASAC

12:30 The working process and scientific findings of the project

Prof Mark O'Malley, University College Dublin, Ireland (Working Group Chair)

12:50 Comments and response from the European Commission DG Energy,

Tudor Constantinescu, Principal Adviser to the Director General, DG Energy

13:00 Panel discussion chaired by Dr William Gillett, Director of EASAC Energy Programme

Panel members:

Frauke Thies, Sustainable Energy Demand Coalition (SEDC)

Patrick Clerens, European Association for Storage of Energy (EASE)

Paul Giesbertz, European Federation of Energy Traders (EFET)

Laurent Schmitt, European network of transmission system operators for electricity (ENTSO-E)

Andrew Ebrill, Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER)

13:35 Comments and response from the European Parliament

Claude Turmes MEP

13:45 Open discussion of the panel with the audience

14:15 Closing remarks by Maria da Graça Carvalho, European Commission

14:20 Networking coffee

14:30 End of Event

www.easac.euRegister for event here!

back to overview